Orchestral Works

Short biography

Thorsteinn Hauksson (b. 1949), is a widely performed modern-classical composer of symphonic, instrumental, vocal, ballet and computer works. He received his training both as composer and as pianist at the Reykjavik Conservatory of Music and he continued his studies in instrumental and computer-aided composition at Stanford University and the University of Illinois. Hauksson has been a composer-in-residence or visiting scholar most notably at IRCAM, Paris; the EMS, Stockholm; the Center of Contemporary Music Research (Athens); the Computer Music Studios at the University of Glasgow; Stanford University, California; the Church Music Festival at Skálholt, Iceland; and the Center for Computer Music & Music Technology (CCMMT) at Kunitachi College of Music, Tokyo.

Hauksson’s compositions have been performed in most countries of Europe, all the Nordic countries, Baltic countries and in Canada, the United States, Japan, and China (Beijing and Hong Kong). His music has been the official Icelandic contribution to international festivals on several occasions. Recent commissions and premieres include Symphony One (Reykjavik, 2006), Skimmermusik (Gothenburg, 2004), Glætur (ISCM 2001 Festival in Yokohama), Sextet (Toronto and Calgary, 2000), Exhalatio (Tokyo, 1996) for saxophone quartet; Metal Concerto (Tokyo, 1996) for three percussionists and computer sound; Psychomachia, Oratorio (Skálholt, Iceland, 1995) for soprano, choir, and string ensemble; Ever-changing Waves (Gothenburg, 1995) for string quartet, winds, and percussion; and Bells of Earth, for solo carillon, solo percussion, and computer sound (Tokyo, 1994) - Bells of Earth for orchestra and computer sound (Aarhus, Denmark, 1994) - and an outdoor multimedia version a work that is still in progress. His ballet, Byen Viso (85 minutes) was recently premiered at Dansens Hus in Stockholm. It was commissioned by the Efva Lilja Dansproduktion, and is based on the storyline written by the Danish poet Pia Tafdrup with choreography by Efva Lilja and scenography by the American sculptor Jene Highstein. The dance company is now in process of performing the work in various places, just recently in Moscow. In addition to shorter works, he is working on a larger version of the Psychomachia Oratorio for orchestra, choir, 2 sopranos, 2 bass singers and computer sound.

Hauksson has been nominated on three occasions for the prestigious Nordic Council Music Prize for the works Ad Astra for orchestra (1988), cho for flute and computer sound (1993) and Bells of Earth for orchestra and computer sound (1995). Among his awards are a Stanford University Fellowship, Fulbright Scholarship, State Fellowships from France and Poland, a Creative Arts Fellowship from the University of Illinois, and on several occasions Icelandic government stipend for composition.
Thorsteinn Hauksson is a full time composer and after several years in Southern France he lives now in Berlin and Iceland.


May, 2010.

Thorsteinn Hauksson, Composer

Thorsteinn Hauksson